A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

Hellenismos 101

By Elani Temperance

[Snip] Hellenismos (Ἑλλήνισμος) is the modern reconstruction of the ancient Greek religion. It focusses on the worship of the Twelve Olympic Gods–Zeus, Hera, Athena, Hephaistos, Apollo, Artemis, Demeter, Dionysos, Hermes, Ares, Poseidon and Aphrodite–along with Hades and Hestia. Most Hellenists honor other types of divinities, including nature spirits (like Pan, Gods of rivers and Gods of the wind directions), Chthonic Deities (like Persephone and Hekate), and heroes (like the Argonauts). We tend to be hard polytheists although I’m sure there are some soft or middle hard polytheists walking about.

Hellenismos is known for its highly developed ethical system, derived from ancient scripture like the Delphic Maxims, as well as scholarly works like the Homeric Hymns, the Tenets of Solon, the Ethics of Aristotle, the Golden Verses of Pythagoras, the Philosophy of Epicurus, the Stoics, Works and Days by Hesiod and many, many others.

Read the full article

Comments are closed.