A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

Stang and Distaff

By Laurelei

Evan John Jones claimed that Robert Cochrane informed him that there were three branches of witchcraft. These were said to be memorialized on a megalith detailed in Justine Glass’s much-maligned book Witchcraft: The Sixth Sense for which Cochrane was a source of information. Though he intentionally provided Ms. Glass with misinformation throughout the book, he claimed until his death that the analysis he provided regarding the menhir and the Mysteries of Witchcraft were true. The meat of his analysis, available in full in Justine Glass’s the book, is repeated as Craft teaching in Evan John Jones’s work The Roebuck in the Thicket.

Traditional Mysteries

The first branch of mysteries is the masculine mysteries, centering on the legends of the Horn Child and the Sacrificial King (the Oak & Holly King stories). The second branch is the feminine mysteries, centering on the mysteries outlined in Robert Graves’ The White Goddess and the weaving of Fate. The third branch, which Cochrane claimed was lost to time, were the Necromantic mysteries. These have been reconstructed somewhat by modern practitioners like ourselves in rituals such as ancestral worship and the Tapping of the Bone.

The stang, revealed by PIE etymology to be a “stick” or “pole,” is perhaps the most complex tool of Traditional Craft. In it are contained each of the three paths of Craft.

Read the full article

Comments are closed.