Categories

Archives

A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

The Haunting of Willington Mill: The Truth About England’s Most Enigmatic Ghost

Reviewed by Peter Rogerson

This is an account of a fascinating early nineteenth century ghost story, one which gives us an excellent insight into what ghost stories looked like in the days before the Society for Psychical Research. It is also provides a warning as to the pitfalls which can occur to those new to historical research.

One problem which plagues the authors is to exactly when the events at the mill started, and as to whether there were prior traditions. These are not exactly resolved in this book.

The basic background is that a mill owning partnership built a mill and attendant house at Willington Quay in Northumberland in about 1800, in about 1806 one of the partners Joseph Unthank moved into the house, which was taken over at some time by his son George. In about 1830, a newly married partner, Joseph Proctor and his young wife moved in, allowing George Unthank to move out to leafier spots. From this we can probably assume that the young man was to be in charge of the day to day running of the mill, allowing the older to effectively retire. Proctor and Unthank were cousins and Quakers.

Read the original article at: Magonia Blog

Comments are closed.